Return of the Mac

Rather than post about the best and worst performers of the evening, I’m going to discuss Tracy McGrady’s night a bit.  In case you’re reading this, and are wondering .. “T-Mac still plays??”.. Yes, he’s on the Atlanta Hawks, and boy did he play tonight. The Hawks handed the Miami Heat their first loss, and Tracy had one of those games that made me miss the real T-Mac from close to a decade ago.

“Been a long time since I had that feeling,” McGrady said. “It feels good. It feels right.”

 


 

McGrady scored 13 of his 16 points in the fourth quarter, fueling the Hawks to outscore the Heat 33-21 in the final quarter.  McGrady probably made the two biggest plays of the night in the final minutes, first throwing a lob to Josh Smith for a dunk, then hitting a three-pointer that gave the Hawks a 93-84 lead with 2:26 left.

I think the main reason I wanted to post about McGrady because his performance made me genuinely happy.  I’m definitely part of the group of fans holding on to the players I more or less grew up with (Kobe, T-Mac, Duncan, even KG unfortunately, to name a few), and seeing players who dominated games a decade ago continue to do so puts a smile on my face.

I don’t think it will be the last time we see McGrady ride a delorean and travel back in time, but it most likely will not be happening on a everyday basis.  The Hawks have had a grueling start to the season, playing 5 games in 7 days; however, if they can use T-Mac sparingly and keep him healthy, I do think we will see plenty more such performances.

T-Mac Back, T-Mac Back … #RickyRozayVoice

Tracy McGrady’s stat line: 16 PTS, 7 REB, 4 AST, 5-8 FGM-A, 3-3 3PM-A [26 MIN, Heat]

 

